Groundnut Sugar cake

Groundnut Sugar Cake

20150618_070215

 

Groundnut Sugar cake for me is my most favorite island candy of all time. This decadence, made with sugar and ginger, was the perfect afternoon snack. I remember my mom running me from the kitchen for fear that I would have consumed the majority of what was on the tray before packaging. I didn’t see the big deal of why she was worried because I was the one to go around the market square and sell the products and I knew the revenue from the sales will still be high (even though everything in my basket was only $1.00 EC each). I hope you can take this recipe and make it a family favorite too.

 

Ingredients:

20150618_060825

  • 1 lb peanuts (baked and shelled)
  • 1-½ cups sugar
  • 1 head fresh ginger grated (NB. use 2-3 tsp ginger powder if you don’t have fresh ginger)
  • ¼- ½ cup water

 

Instructions:

20150618_061842

 

  • In a medium size pot put sugar, ginger and water to boil
  • Reduce heat to a simmer and use a wooden spoon to stir so that the sugar dissolves evenly
  • After 15 minutes, the mixture will turn to a syrupy texture and thicken

20150618_062553

  • Remove from heat and quickly pour over nuts and mix vigorously
  • Pour on a cookie sheet to cool and set; break into pieces before serving

20150618_062636

 

  1. If you prefer, use a spoon and put down into clumps or balls

One thought on “Groundnut Sugar cake

Leave a comment